Grandma Josie’s Blueberry Cake

When I saw this recipe I just knew it needed to be on our table for our Christmas morning breakfast! It just sounded yummy and it didn’t seem too challenging. (Special thanks to Jo Anne and Darlene for sharing the recipe!) The BEST part of the whole recipe was that I there was enough batter for two of my Christmas tree pans, so I was able to gift one to some friends. I used fresh blueberries, although I think the recipe would work fine with frozen too, I would just recommend thawing them first so the extra liquid doesn’t throw off the recipe.

I followed the recipe precisely, folding in the berries and pouring batter into well greased pans. This was fine, except all the blueberries sunk to the bottom. Next time I think I will fold in half the blueberries and then place the rest in mid-way through cooking. I don’t think it will really affect the taste of the recipe, but will just help the presentation.

Also, the actual cake batter recipe (minus the berries) seems like a really great base recipe. I’m going to work on some other variations with this, as I believe it will be delish!

Here is a picture of the family getting ready for Christmas Morning Breakfast!

Grandma Josie’s Blueberry Cake

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:

1/2 c Butter

1 1/4 c Sugar

2 Eggs

1/2 c Milk

1 tsp Vanilla

2 c Flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp Salt

2 c Blueberries

Directions:

Heat oven to 350*

Cream butter & sugar. Add eggs, milk, vanilla and beat well.

Mix dry ingredients in seperate bowl and add to wet mixture, mix well. Fold in blueberries. Cook until toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean.

**I recommend folding in half of blueberries and baking for 10 minutes and then placing remaining blueberries on top of cake to more evenly distribute the berries.

6 Responses to “Grandma Josie’s Blueberry Cake”

  1. Ana Says:

    I was one the lucky people to have this cake gifted and it was DELICIOUS! Thanks Lexi šŸ™‚

  2. Amy Z Says:

    Flouring the blueberries will help keep them suspended more evenly in the batter. If you used cranberries instead you could sugar them instead of flouring, or use dried (sweetened) cranberries.

    Cute new blog, Lexi! I’m looking forward to following along on your culinary adventure!

  3. dishinwithedna Says:

    Yup, apparently that does work…. http://www.slashfood.com/2006/08/30/how-to-prevent-berries-from-sinking-in-batter/

  4. Suzie Says:

    For some reason I remember Mom saying to flour the blueberries to prevent them from sinking. Not sure if it actually works though.

  5. Dad Says:

    I recommend decorating Tree cake with whole cranberries. although the cranberries are very bitter, they will look nice and you can advise guests not to eat them.

Leave a Reply

