Stuffed Mushrooms

Does this look like the face of someone eating a bland stuffed mushroom?

I made these delightful stuffed mushrooms for the Madriz’s famous New Years Eve bash. And you know how it goes when you have a party to go to, everything seems to take much, much longer than you anticipated. Thank goodness this party didn’t start until 9:00 p.m. and I had plenty of time to finish the stuffed mushrooms. When Dad tasted the mushrooms fresh from the oven he claimed they were bland. Bland? I just spent an hour making these darn things, they can’t be bland! I don’t particularly enjoy mushrooms, but I did try one. I didn’t think it was bland, but it was a recipe without cream cheese (a common stuffed mushroom ingredient) so it simply wasn’t as rich, which is to be expected. But I sprinkled some salt over the tops and figured if they were horrible I’d go back to the drawing board with the recipe. I brought them to the party and everyone was raving, I mean RAVING over the mushrooms. At one point a friend came over to tell me she had to “cut her boyfriend off” because he had ate so many! I questioned everyone on whether they thought they were too bland, and no one felt that way. Dad thinks my last minute salting “saved” the recipe. Regardless, I have included that in my directions.

The mushrooms with their “insides” removed.

Usually when making stuffed mushrooms I would use a very tiny pairing knife and spoon for this job, but since I was at home and didn’t have all my usual tools I had to revert to plan B. Turns out, a grapefruit spoon is the next best option. And I actually think I will use the grapefruit spoon with my pairing knife next time.

Hot, Hot, Hot! Mushroom insides cooking!

And they’re done. Bland or not, here they come.

Stuffed Mushrooms

Printer Friendly Version



Ingredients:

12 Small White Mushrooms

1/4 c Oil

1 Tbsp Butter

1 Tbsp Breadcrumbs

1/2 Shallot

1 Tbsp Parsley

Salt

Pepper

Directions:

Heat oven to 400*F

Clean mushrooms with moist paper towel. Remove stems from inside of mushrooms. Chop stems very fine. Heat oil in heavy skillet. When oil is hot (almost smoking) add chopped mushrooms and salt & pepper. Cook over high heat, stirring to cook evenly. Drain mushrooms.

Add butter to skillet, when melted add chopped mushrooms, breadcrumbs, shallot, and parsley. Heat mixture through.

Use mixture to stuff mushroom caps. Spray baking sheet with Pam and place stuffed caps on baking sheet.

Bake stuffed caps for 20 minutes, until mushrooms are piping hot and liquid forms under caps.  Sprinkle salt over tops of mushrooms before serving.

6 Responses to “Stuffed Mushrooms”

  1. Dad Says:

    I doubt if any of her recipes are completely hers. They are all derivative of someone else’s recipe or some recipe in the newspaper or on an ingredient box. I think she changed some recipes to suit her tastes. But I have to agree with Lexi, the important point is that she liked them enough to save them.

  2. dishinwithedna Says:

    That’s not the point of the project- to only make recipes in her handwriting. The point is to make all the recipes in the bag- if she wrote it down or saved it, she thought something of it. Besides, what difference does it make?

  3. Mary-Jo Says:

    Just because the recipe was in the bag doesn’t mean it was originally hers. I distinctly remember this being your father’s recipe. You know the recipe wasn’t in her handwriting.

  4. dishinwithedna Says:

    Are you sure? If you’ve ever had them in a restaurant, a lot of their recipes use cream cheese. And yes it’s from Grammie’s recipes, Aunt Mary thought that Dad might have given her the recipe from his French cooking class. (Because she remembers Grammie saying she didn’t know what shallots were) There is another Mushroom recipe too- I just haven’t made it yet.

  5. Suzie Says:

    Ohh I forgot to add that I have never had stuffed mushrooms that use cream cheese in the recipe.

  6. Suzie Says:

    Hey Lexi – mushrooms look great! Was this recipe from grammie’s stuff? The recipe I remember her making (which may have originated with Loretta) used butter, not oil.

Leave a Reply

