From Scratch Brownies

This was the first recipe I typed up because it was literally crumbling in my fingers. I feared for the fate of the recipe  if I so much as breathed too heavy on the piece of paper. So I typed it up, figuring things as best I could as I was typing. The good news is that I must have figured right, because these brownies are DIVINE. I mean WOW, melt in your mouth, best batter I’ve ever tasted, perfectly plump brownies.

First, enlist two eager helpers

Then, gather your ingredients (plus butter and chocolate, mine was already melting)

Melt the butter and chocolate.

A note on the chocolate: Her recipe called for Nestle’s sweet chocolate. We didn’t have that, and I didn’t much feel like running to the store. So we used Hershey’s chocolate bars which worked just fine. If you want it a bit more chocolatey, use a bit more chocolate. Of course I can’t imagine wanting a LESS intense chocolate flavor but by all means you can reduce it as well.

Batter mixture minus the melted butter & chocolate.

All mixed together! YUM

Now, let me tell you one of the best parts of this recipe. The directions call for lining the pan with greased wax paper. So I first greased the pan (like I would for a Pumpkin roll cake) then I laid down the wax paper (the butter helped the wax paper to stick to the sides) then I buttered the wax paper. The result? A brownie that was an absolute breeze to remove from the pan.

Wow! That was easy!

Like I mentioned before, this recipe came together very easily. And it just tastes SO MUCH better than any box mix. One other thing I’m going to mention before it comes up in the comments is that this recipe (as far as I can tell) was in Grammie’s handwriting. I realize that once mixes became available Grammie (and housewives across the country) starting replacing their from scratch recipes to the mixes because it was easier and cheaper. But I assure you, this recipe is worth the extra effort & pennies.

From Scratch Brownies

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:

7 oz. Nestle Sweet Chocolate (I believe you would be fine with semi-sweet)
1/3 C. Butter
2 Eggs Beaten
1/2 C. Sugar
1/2 C. Sifted Flour
1/2 tsp. Baking Powder
1/4 tsp. Salt
1 tsp. Vanilla
1 C. Walnuts (Optional)

Directions:

Melt butter and chocolate in bowl over simmering water. Beat sugar and eggs until lemon colored. Add flour, baking powder, and salt (which have been sifted together) to sugar mixture. Add chocolate, vanilla, and if desired, walnuts. Fold in. Pour into greased wax paper lined 8×8 pan and cook on 350*F.

(Editors Note: The recipe did NOT have pan dimensions or oven temperature anywhere on the card. Based on the amount of batter, I used an 8×8 pan. A 9 x 13 pan would result in very thin, very crispy brownies. They cooked perfectly at 350*F, and cooked up quite quickly.)

And about those two eager helpers…. They might have had ulterior motives

Leave a Reply

