Happy Birthday!

Today we get to wish a very Happy Birthday to Grammie {Edna} and Evan!

Today would be Grammie’s 82nd Birthday, and Evan Dane turns 10 today!

We still miss you Gram! How fun it would be to celebrate these two birthdays together! I know that Grammie would be so proud of the many things our family has done and accomplished, and looks down on us frequently with smiles. (Or smirks, you know, depending on the situation)

In honor of her birthday, I’m going to share a story from when I was lucky enough to have Grammie taking care of my brother {Nicholas} and I.

I must have been in the 3rd or 4th grade, and at the time Lucky (Aunt Mary Jo’s dog) was living with use while she was living overseas. Lucky was very fond of all sorts of fruit, and we admittedly spoiled him endlessly and gave him fruit like it was our job. Grammie would always cut up watermelon for us and then cut very close to the rind and get the leftover fruit to give to Lucky. One afternoon I decided I was going to cut up some watermelon for myself and Lucky. At the ripe old age of 8 though, you can imagine that I wasn’t very experienced with using a large butchers knife. I started cutting with no problems until I decided to cut more closely to the rind (for Lucky) as a sliced the watermelon the tip of the knife cut my pointer finger on my left hand. It was very, very ugly. I didn’t want Grammie to be mad at me (since I did not have permission to be using the knife) and I also didn’t want to need stitches again (since not long before I had split my chin while ice skating and needed stitches) so I grabbed a kitchen towel, covered my finger and ducked for cover in the bathroom. I managed to stay hidden for about half an hour or so when the darn dog blew my cover. He was barking at the door and Grammie grew suspicious of my silence and came to investigate. When I finally relented and opened the door, Grammie came in and discovered the injury. Although I didn’t know it at the time, Grammie wasn’t one to elbow her way to the doctor for minor injuries. She agreed with me that I didn’t need stitches, and we could just run it under cold water and put a band aid on the cut. I probably did need stitches, but I lived. Still have a scar on my finger, and every time I look at it I smile and think of Gram.

Lesson learned: When you really are hurt (even if it’s your own darn fault) don’t be afraid to tell someone who can help you. Even if they’re mad, they’ll take care of you first and lecture you second.

Happy Birthday Grammie and Evan!

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday!”

  1. Lexi Says:

    Dad, I just realized that I forgot to show you the scar while I was home! Remind me next time! xoxo

  2. Dad Says:

    I don’t think I was ever told that story. Now I’m mad at both of you.

Leave a Reply

